Tags

, ,

It’s me again, your favorite brown haired, blue eyed journeyman. On Saturday (the 13th), Susan threw me and Adrianna an engagement party. Before that, of course, we had to make our house look like we were having a celebration, not like we were having a book-club meeting. Towards that end Susan ordered some awesome decorations online that were complemented handsomely by a great big bag from Party USA brought over by our neighbor across the street, Kristi. We decided that, since the party wasn’t until Saturday evening, we could spend Friday cleaning, vacuuming (apathetically staring at a Roomba) and applying the broad strokes, and spend Saturday morning putting on some final touches. Donning my masculine cap, I decided to leave the inside cleaning to the girls, and took to slowly burning down a giant brush pile in our backyard so that when we did burn it in the intended bonfire, we wouldn’t take the county down with us in a pyromaniacal inferno. I spent most of the day dragging brush away from the pile to our smaller pit (for safety). The pictures below feature mild male nudity (my apologies).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Around lunchtime we realized we needed to run a few errands, and stepped away from the engrossing tasks of cleaning and decorating to run into town. This quick trip was topped off by a stop into Tastee-Treat, my all time favorite place to get ice cream. Adrianna tried to get pictures, but we ate everything before she could, because that stuff is plain awesome.

Post dip-cone bliss

Post dip-cone bliss

When we got back, we had just a tiny bit left to do. After dragging some more brush up, I grabbed Susan, hoping she could confirm that I was done, and that the burn pile was now burnable. While taking some of her direction and jury-rigging a couch into place, I made the amateur mistake of stepping on a nail. It shot straight through my friggin shoe (thanks a bunch, Converse) and lodged an undisclosed portion of itself between the third and fourth toes of my right foot. It hurt. I took it out, hobbled back to the house, and decided that I would call it quits for the day. I’m still limping a bit, and felt–and continue to feel–like quite the idiot. We watched Cloud Atlas (I’d recommend it, but it’s really long) and settled down. Adrianna and I split to hang out with Ben and Krystal at the Shop, confident that we had prepared enough for the day.

Pictured: too much fun

Pictured: too much fun

As is my style, I stayed up too late and had too much fun. This came back to bite me, for the next morning was not to be as forgiving as I might have hoped…

