August 2, 2013 – AND WE’RE EXHAUSTED! Hardly slept on the planes. Our room is huge, three beds but there’s just the two of us. We’ll be super busy starting at 7:30 a.m. but all is well and I’m FINALLY going to get some sleep.

August 3, 2013 – Good evening! So there’s one thing I’ve discovered about Beijing so far…it’s exactly like China in Epcot. Seriously. We’re walking around Peking University (where we’re teaching our first classes tomorrow) and it’s all cultivated and green and lush with foo dogs and pagodas everywhere and I had to laugh uproariously because it’s exactly like Disney World, complete with many Asian tourists.

Spenser is going to be teaching 6th graders tomorrow and he’s not too thrilled about it considering he just got done with teaching 6th graders in New Orleans (oh the irony!). Also, he’s super jealous of me because I won the teaching training jackpot by having to teach college students. Students that actually want to be there. My lesson plan was a breeze to make (discussions! Yay!) and I’m actually looking forward to class tomorrow.
We’ll try to post pictures soon but it looks like WordPress is actually blocked in Beijing (even though Spenser said we’d be fine), so we’ll just update it whenever we get to Shenzhen two and a half weeks from now. Also, I haven’t taken a ton of photos yet because the campus is pretty but it looks like we won’t be getting off of the Peking University grounds anytime soon (we’re teaching EVERY SINGLE DAY). Talk about an intensive training session! Jet lag is also factoring in, but not as much as I thought it would.
The food is…different. I’ve been eating a lot of noodles and drinking lots of bottled water. It’s hot here now but the humidity’s not that bad, so we’re mostly still dehydrated from the flight. Or, to put it this way, I had dumplings for breakfast and Pepto for lunch. We’ve both been eating but nothing has tasted spectacular yet so we really don’t have much of an appetite. Plus, we’re so busy, we have to remember to eat. My teaching partner has a brain full of Jell-o due to such horrible jet lag. He woke up at 3:00 a.m. last night and then compounded the problem by not eating all day. Needless to say, I made our lesson plan for tomorrow and I’m totally prepared to teach the entire class by myself. Sigh.
I’m looking forward to teaching but I’m even more excited to get to Shenzhen. I knew these two and a half weeks in Beijing we’re going to suck, but I just hope I have enough stamina and patience to successfully get through it (Spenser will need even more patience with 6th graders, dear god). He’s still out with his group working on their lesson plans, so I think I’m just going to treat myself to a hot shower and go to bed early (it’s only 9 p.m. right now). Usually I’d watch TV to zone-out but it’s all in Mandarin anyway so, that’s just not going to happen 🙂
OR! I could try to email some pictures to friends and family!
Much, much love and I miss you all terribly!
By Adrianna
